Economic and Social Councils

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) was established in 1945 and is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. It is responsible for coordinating the UN and Specialized Agencies’ economic and social work. The council makes recommendations and fosters debates related to sustainable development, industrialization, technology, international trade, and social welfare, among other topics.


Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

Topic A: Dangers of Rising Sea Levels to Latin America

Topic B: Economic Effects of Hurricane Nate in Costa Rica

World Bank

Topic A: Affordability of Social Protection Systems

Topic B: Austerity Measures in Argentina

United Nations Environment Programme

Topic A: Development and Implementation of Environmentally Sound Technologies

Topic B: Environmental Impact of Livestock Farming

Economic Commission for Africa

Topic A: Piracy in West Africa

Topic B: Socially and Environmentally Sustainable Practices in Mineral Trade in Africa